Morning Routine

“Getting up in the morning to do your sadhana does not mean you will become God. No, getting up in the morning, you will become you!” 

– Yogi Bhajan

Good morning y’all! I thought today I would share a little bit about my morning routine.

So, I tend to have a difficult time accomplishing things in the evening. I come home with a list of to-dos, ready to be completed. Then, I get an hour long phone call from my Nana, chase the dog around the house for 20 minutes trying to get back my favorite bra, cook a recipe that was supposed to take 30 minutes but really takes 75… and before you know it, it’s bed time! Now I can’t even remember my to-do list and I am rushing through my facewash to get into bed “on time”. Does this sound like your evenings? 

I came to the conclusion that in order to find time for myself, I really needed to start waking up early to find the right “stillness” I needed. This was NOT an easy change for me. I’ve always been a bit of a night owl and my body really fought hard to keep it that way. I found this awesome “greatist” about becoming a morning person and I pinned it on my wall and followed it to my best ability. I would suggest you do the same if you’re looking to start finding more time in the morning. Honestly, the most important tool you will need for waking up earlier is a motivator. Just saying “I want to wake up earlier” is not going to help you. Try “I want to wake up earlier to find time for journaling,” “I want to get up every morning to enjoy my coffee as the sun rises,” “I want to wake up earlier to find time for a morning jog/workout.” Keep this as your reminder. You are doing something great for yourself! 

Gotta be 100% honest people, I don’t always wake up early. Sometimes, I cannot for the life of me get to bed on time and I need a little extra snooze time. That’s okay! Don’t punish your body if it is crying out for some extra sleep, just don’t let it become a habit. Okay… blah, blah, blah. Now onto my morning routine.

So, I was really hoping to get to the dog park super early this morning, but I was happy for my plans to be canceled thanks to some beautiful morning rain in AZ today! Love it! I still woke up on time, but I spent my time curled up watching the rain outside and tossing the ball to Wesley inside the house… 

First thing I try to do every morning is eat some fruit and make myself some tea (or coffee on days I’m really dragging). I read a fabulous article by Mind, Body, Green  about eating fruit and the benefits of doing it first thing in the morning, on an empty stomach. If you are trying to put on muscle, it’s really important that you eat within the first 20-40 minutes of waking up to feed your body, or it will resort to feeding off your muscles! Green tea with a little honey and lemon is a great way to rinse out the body and give yourself a little boost of energy. 

BeFunky_20140813_054454.jpg

Next, I hop in the shower for 10-20 minutes. (I really try hard remember to rinse my mouth with some coconut oil while I shower, but I typically only remember to do so 25% of the time.) For me, showering in the morning is extremely beneficial because it loosens up my body for morning yoga. I began this practice (along with the morning tea) after reading Iyengar’s Light on Yoga. He suggests the shower to loosen up and the tea or coffee to get your body energized. He also recommends practicing on an empty stomach, but the fruit is so light, it generally does not bother me. 

Yoga time! I try to spend 20-40 minutes after my shower practicing yoga. Sometimes, I follow my own routine or I look up a video online to follow. I love, love, love Yoga with Adriene videos. I was able to transform some space in my home office/craft room to allow space for my yoga practice where I can shut the door and have some ME time. 

I got pretty excited about effects this morning...
I got pretty excited about effects this morning…

After some much needed savasana (corpse pose), I get my morning going again by finally getting ready. I honestly hate getting ready and I really try to spend less than 15 minutes getting dressed, doing hair, and makeup. I wish I could care a little more about my getting ready routine, but I just don’t! Shout out to all you girls looking so gosh darn beautiful in the morning! Seriously, you rock! I am a little too lazy for that… While I am getting ready, this is usually a great time to listen to some aspirations, an inspiring ted talk, or whatever is your thing. It encourages me to kick some ass throughout the day. 

Before heading to work, I am starting to get hungry again so I make a juice or smoothie to bring with me and pack a small morning snack. This morning I packed homemade energy bites and a peachy green juice. So good!

8.jpg

Then, it’s time for work. If I have a few extra minutes, I feed the trimmings and pulp from my juice to my chickens, love on the pooches for a minute, and typically run out the house because now I’m going to be late (and usually run back into the house to grab my juice I forgot). No morning is ever the same, but this gives you a pretty good idea of my basic “routine”. Thanks for reading y’all!

Doggies are loving the weather, chickens are grubbing on breakfast, and I am actually off to work ON TIME! Loving it!
Doggies are loving the weather, chickens are grubbing on breakfast, and I am actually off to work ON TIME! Loving it!
Leave a Reply

