DIY: “Brunch & Bubbly” Bridal Shower invites

“There is only one of you in all time, this expression is unique. And if you block it, it will never exist through any other medium and it will be lost.”  — Martha Graham

 

Whew! I apologize for the major delay in making a new post. I am very human and have been quite overwhelmed recently! I haven’t posted for a few reasons: I have been very, very busy with teacher training, I have had extra things on my plate, and most importantly, I have been eager to post about the invitations we designed for my sister-in-laws bridal shower. I wanted to post the invitations and how they were made, but wanted to wait until I knew the majority of the people who may wander into my blog had already received their invitation and did not feel left out.

This has been my life
This has been my life

So, here it goes: my first super simple tutorial post on making these adorable “Brunch and Bubbly” invitations. I do get basic ideas from scrolling the internal (mostly, my Pinterest boards), so there may be aspects to the invitations that I took from things you have already seen before. The best part about getting creative is that it is not wrong to use other ideas if you can tweak them into something totally YOUnique!

I blurred out personal information for privacy

I blurred out personal information for privacy

First things first: I cut all my cardboard white paper into a 5×7 size (to fit into the envelope size I picked up). I decorated the borders of the white paper using gold paint and the top of a pencil eraser. I used two different shades of gold, but whatever you think is best!

paint

Next, I wrote “Brunch & Bubbly” on these awesome pre-cut paper pieces I got from the craft store. There are two reasons why I didn’t simply print this item: I wanted the gold to be metallic and I didn’t want to hand cut all the shapes. Up to you on whatever you’d like to do. I used paint pens, but Sharpies work great too and are available in metallics.

Other pieces included on the main invitation are the gold strip of paper and the invitation verbiage I printed onto the pink cardstock. The gold strips of paper are 2×5” and the pink piece is 4×6”. I designed the wording using publisher by making my own paper guide size and making sure to measure the space I needed to leave for the “Brunch and Bubbly” piece. I used glue sticks on some of my invitation and double-sided tape on others. Both worked equally well; however, I would suggest scrapbooking glue pens or scrapbooking sticky tabs if you have them.

20140909_231616

We also included some extras with the invitation, including a basic recipe card, an additional information card, and a tea pouch with the registry information on it. To make the tea pouch, I purchased mini brown paper sacks and taped on a piece of paper with the registry information (which I also painted with metallic watercolors to add sparkle). We placed a tea bag in each sack and hole-punched the sack to tie the invitation all together with simple pink ribbon. I think the extras should be unique to the bride, which is why I added the tea bags (because Spencer LOVES tea).

20140909_231339

Please feel free to leave any questions in the comments below and I will be sure to respond to them. Thanks everyone,

Taryn xoxo

This is Wesley while I am working hard on homework...
This is Wesley while I am working hard on homework…
One thought on “DIY: “Brunch & Bubbly” Bridal Shower invites

  1. Deb @ PaperTurtle September 10, 2014 / 9:26 am

    These turned out SO cute, Taryn! I wondered if you hand wrote the “Brunch and Bubbly” yourself. Awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

