Update on Growth: Backyard Love

“If I had a flower for every time I thought of you, I could walk in my garden forever.” – Alfred Lord Tennyson

In part of my goals to work on personal growth this year, I really wanted to take my word literally as well and plant new seeds. My sweet angel of a puppy has made a wreck of our backyard over the past year. Seriously, only the trees and the fake grass survived his destruction! I have been eager to replace the plants he had ruined, scatter some bright colored flowers, and get my garden beds ready for veggies this spring.

Of course, I was blessed with the help of family again. My hubby was up North hunting for the weekend, but I had the help of my father and my in-laws. Irrigation lines had been destroyed and I was not quite sure what I was doing, but I am grateful for the men in my life who act as patient teachers. I got married without any knowledge of maintaining the landscaping of our home and I am constantly learning new things.

Here are my before pictures. Everything is pretty barren and there are nice sized pot-holes all over the yard (thank you Wesley).

before.jpg

First step was a trip to the local Ace Hardware store. I was able to get a lot of help picking out low maintenance shrubs and flowers and they were having an awesome sale. I walked out of the store with nine shrubs and over two dozen flowers, only spending about $35! I was a very happy girl. Some of the things I purchased were: lantanas (both in lavender and red/gold), yellow oleanders, orange jubilee, blue morning glories, pansies, stock, carpet roses, etc. I had too much fun at Ace:

ace.jpg

Then, everyone showed up at my house and we got to work fixing irrigation, raking (and raking and raking), and chasing the dogs away from the mud. It was a lot of hard work, but I honestly enjoyed the process. The weather was beautiful (80 degrees already) and I was very proud of our work. Check out all my helpers:

help.jpg
I absolutely adore my father and father-in-law and am grateful they have become friends!

It is still winter, so it will take a while to really feel the effects of the new plants and see the new beauty in the yard. I am so anxious for March! Here is a little taste of the clean backyard (more to come in a month of so):

yard.jpg

In addition to getting some plants added to the backyard, I have been eager to get my garden beds back in action. It is still a little cold at night to start planting some of my favorite herbs outside, so my mother-in-law and I made some small planters for the little windows in home. The great thing about these windows is that they’re out of the way for the dogs to get into and they will get a lot of sun for at least half of the day. We planted: parsley, oregano, cilantro, chives, sage, spearmint, basil, and rosemary!

herbs.jpg

Again, expect more to come on the backyard transformation. I am hoping to find the time to construct a bench under our patio, plant some tasty vegetables, and possibly add to the plant life in the yard.

Bring on the springtime! Love y’all, Taryn xoxo

One thought on “Update on Growth: Backyard Love

  1. upsidediy February 13, 2015 / 4:10 pm

    It’s still freezing here. I guess I will just have to enjoy your garden for now! 😀 It’s looking good!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

